How to use Google Maps Timeline on iPhone and iPad

With the Google Maps Timeline, you can view your Location History details. You can view the places you have visited, distance, and other information in the location History. In your Google Maps Timeline, not only you can view location history but also edit entries, delete information or all of the location History data. Although your Google Maps Timeline is private and no one can see it except you. If you also want to create and use Google Maps Timeline, then here is how to create and manage your Google Maps Timeline on your iPhone and iPad.

How to create a Google Maps Timeline

To create the Timeline, you will have to turn on location services and history. Enabling location history will record the places you have visited with your account linked device. Also remember, enabling location services on the iPhone or iPad share the location information with the apps you’re using.

Steps to create a Timeline:

1.    Launch the ‘Google Maps’ app on your iPhone or iPad.

2.    Click on the ‘Hamburger’ icon.

3.    Click on ‘Settings.’

4.    Click on ‘Personal content.’

5.    Go down to ‘Location settings.’

6.    Ensure that ‘Location services’ is enabled.

If it the “Location Services” is not enabled, then turn it on.

Steps to turn on Location Services:

•    Click on ‘Location Services not set to always.’

•    Click on ‘Location.’

•    And select ‘Always.’

How to view your travels

1.    Launch the ‘Google Maps’ app on your iPhone or iPad.

2.    Click on the ‘Hamburger’ icon.

3.    Click on ‘Timeline.’

4.    To change day or month, click ‘Show calendar.’

5.    Swipe right or left.

6.    Select a day.

How to enable or pause Location History

Once you turned on location history, Google starts recording your location data including the places into your Google account, even when you’re not using the Google Maps. If you want to pause or turn on the location history, check the below steps.

1.    Launch the ‘Google Maps’ app on your iPhone or iPad.

2.    Click on the ‘Hamburger’ icon.

3.    Click on ‘Timeline.’

4.    Click on ‘Settings.’

5.    Click on ‘Enable/Pause Location History.’

How to delete a day from Location History (Timeline)

Keep in mind, once you delete information from your Google Maps Timeline, it will delete permanently. The info you delete will get removed from your location history, and you won’t see it again. If any other settings are enabled then maybe you’ll find the deleted information there.

1.    Launch the ‘Google Maps’ app on your iPhone or iPad.

2.    Click on the ‘Hamburger’ icon.

3.    Click on ‘Timeline.’

4.    To select the day you want to delete, click ‘Show calendar.’

5.    Swipe right or left.

6.    Select the day you want to delete the information of.

7.    Click on ‘More (…)’ icon.

8.    And click ‘Delete the day.’

How to delete complete Location History (Timeline)

Remember the information you delete will remove permanently.

1.    Launch the ‘Google Maps’ app on your iPhone or iPad.

2.    Click on the ‘Hamburger’ icon.

3.    Click on ‘Timeline.’

4.    Click on ‘More (…)’ icon.

5.    Click on ‘Settings.’

6.    Go down to ‘Location settings.’

To delete location history for some days:

•    Click on ‘Delete History range.’

•    Select the range.

•    And ‘Delete.’

To delete the entire Location History:

•    Click on ‘Delete all History.’

•    Confirm your action.

That’s it!

Lucia Mandela is a self-professed security expert; she has been making the people aware of the security threats. Has passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. She writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup.

Leave a Reply